Return to Headlines

2017 Raleigh County Service Personnel Employee of the Year

Betty Acord

Betty Acord Named 2017 Raleigh County Service Personnel Employee of the Year 

The Raleigh County Board of Education announced its Service Personnel Employee of the Year at a banquet held April 20, 2017 at the Academy of Careers and Technology.  Each work location is asked to submit a nominee(s) for the annual award with the group of nominees narrowed to five finalists, one finalist per each of five service personnel classifications.  A selection committee all written submissions and conducts on-site observations/interviews of the five finalists.  Each of the finalists and the employee of the year received generous gifts from the Ford Family Fund.

The 2016-2017 finalists include the following:

  • Betty Acord: Aide Finalist of the Year
  • Patricia Arndt: Child Nutrition Finalist of the Year
  • James Bennett: Transportation Finalist of the Year
  • Eric Green: Custodial/Maintenance Finalist of the Year
  • Patti Linville: Office/Clerical Finalist of the Year

In addition to entertainment provided by Groovis Phaticus, a band from Liberty High School under the direction of Jeremy Rodriguez, attendees enjoyed a delicious dinner prepared and served by the students enrolled in the ProStart program at the Academy of Careers and Technology, under the guidance and supervision of Corbin Tonelli.  Following the entertainment and dinner, each nominee was recognized with Betty Acord named the 2017 Raleigh County Service Personnel Employee of the Year.  Ms. Acord has served the students, staff, and community of Raleigh County Schools for 14 years.  She currently serves as a preschool special needs aide at Daniels Elementary School.  Ms. Acord will represent Raleigh County Schools in the state-level recognition program.

Raleigh County Schools extends a special thank you to Liberty High School’s Groovis Phaticus and the Academy of Careers and Technology’s ProStart program as well as the Beckley Area Foundation and the Ford Family Fund for their continued support of this annual recognition program.